Time, Well Wasted

Aaron Pace
4 min readAug 21, 2022
Photo by Kunj Parekh on Unsplash

I love baked salmon. I fell in love with it eating lovingly-prepared meals at my paternal grandmother’s table.

Unfortunately, she took her secret recipe to the grave with her. One thing I do know: no part of the recipe was hurried. Each filet was carefully seasoned by hand, wrapped in foil, and slow cooked to perfection.

Blue Lemon, a “fancy fast food” cafe in Salt Lake City, serves a pretty decent approximation to grandma’s salmon.

I always eat too fast.

My wife and I recently sat across from each other at Blue Lemon, once again enjoying the salmon. There was definite situational irony in that I devoured mine quickly while we talked about the frenetic pace of life. I sat and watched her savor each bite, tempted more than a few times to steal a forkful or two of her salmon.

On Medium.com, over 226,000 posts have used the tag “Productivity”. Clearly Medium is a space where people come to both write and read about all things related to getting more done.

This is the curse of modern, technology-driven living. At no time in history have more people been able to get more done in a 24-hour day.

For thousands of years, the only way to travel from place to place was either on foot or horse-powered conveyance. That meant even on the fastest of horses, you could, at…

--

--

Aaron Pace

Married to my best friend. Father to five exuberant children. Fledgling entrepreneur. Writer. Software developer. Inventory management expert.